Wilkinson Trophy Report


Grantham’s hopes of winning this years Wilkinson Trophy ended after defeat to Lindum in the final. Skipper Carl Wilson won the toss and elected to field first and the decision was justified early on after Daniel Freeman (3-40) removed one of Lindum openers in his opening over. However, Lindum’s number 3 Aaron Onyon (51) counter attacked the Grantham bowlers and scored quickly getting to his half century at less than a run a ball with 10 boundaries included in his knock. Grantham were able to control the middle order by taking wickets and regular intervals with Lindum reaching 177 in their 40 overs.

            Grantham’s reply didn’t get off to the best of starts with the loss of Jaden fell for a 3-ball duck. Ross Carnelley (30) and Ben Coddington (35) offered some stiff resistance against the Lindum attack. However, after the loss of both set batsman Grantham’s middle and lower order struggled and wickets felled at regular intervals. Robert Cook and Joe Peatman both picked up 3 wickets each for Lindum. Victory was sealed for Lindum in the 32 over with captain Robert Cook lifting the trophy.